AU regrets Exit of AES states from Ecowas ,calls for intensified Dialogue

The African Union (AU) called on Tuesday to intensify the dialogue between the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the three countries (Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger) which announced on Sunday their withdrawal from the subregional institution. In a statement, the Chairperson of the AU Commission, Moussa Faki Mahamat, deeply regretted the decision of these three countries, which he described as a “regrettable step”. “The President of the African Union Commission calls for the combined efforts of all efforts so that the irreplaceable unity of ECOWAS is preserved and African solidarity strengthened,” the statement said. However, this statement from the AU, which deeply regrets the decision of the three countries, appears to be an admission of powerlessness. Indeed, the AU could have acted to prevent ECOWAS from taking unfair sanctions against the three countries. But it did not react, leaving ECOWAS to continue its authoritarian drift. Indeed, the three countries decided to leave ECOWAS due to its distance from its initial ideals, its unjust sanctions and its subjugation to foreign powers.


Sponsored Images

Dear Readers, Good and credible news reportage is tedious task and requires huge finances.

We are soliciting your Noble support for as low as N1,000 your support would go a long way in assisting us to continue to guarantee our readers quality news.
Bank transfers can be made to:
Account Name: Harvest and Commercial
Bank: Sterling Bank
Account Number: 0078627735